Skip to main content Help with accessibility Skip to main navigation
Article number: 18517Last updated: 23-12-2022

NHSmail - Account Lifecycle Changes

Account Lifecycle Changes Update

Automatic Deletion of Inactive NHSmail Accounts 

Currently, a user’s Email / MS Teams / SharePoint account will remain active when regularly used. Accounts that are not pro-actively used or monitored present a security risk to the platform. Therefore, from 1st December the time unused accounts remain on the system has been reduced. Accounts will be deleted if not used for 60 days. 

Therefore, we strongly recommend that every 30 days you do one of the following: 

  • Log into Office using your NHSmail account 
  • Log into MS Teams using your NHSmail account 
  • Log into Outlook using your NHSmail account 
  • Log into the NHSmail portal every 30 days 
  • Send an email from your NHSmail account. 

Failure to do so will likely result in your account, and any data being permanently deleted. New accounts that have not been activated will also be subject to being deleted after 30 days. 

What if I am away from work for a long time (e.g. Maternity leave or Long-term Sick)

If a member of staff is not able to access email, due to them being on leave for a long period, on long term sick leave, or on maternity leave, for example, they could easily have their account deleted. Line managers can contact the IT service desk to request that these accounts are disabled. This will ensure the account is not deleted for 18 months. 

Please note: Disabled accounts will receive emails; however, users will not be able to log in to read these until the account has been re-enabled.